Skip to main content

How to Become a National Certified Peer Specialist (NCPS)

Our career roadmap shows the career path from the moment you decide to become a peer specialist to the moment you earn the National Certified Peer Specialist (NCPS) certification! 


Below are the steps to earn the NCPS, the first national advanced peer specialist certification:

  1. Verify you meet the NCPS requirements:
    Current state certification with a minimum of 40 hours of training OR completion of an MHA approved training
    A minimum of 3,000 hours of supervised work or volunteer experience providing direct peer support
  2. Start your application through the FCB online application portal.
  3. Complete your application using the Certification Guidelines.
  4. Schedule your exam online or in-person (you can prepare using your Self-Assessment Checklist and Test Preparation Guide).
  5. Take the Exam!

To learn more about the NCPS, click here.