Skip to main content
Friday, July 10, 2020
     

Protective Factors for Healing from Trauma in BIPOC Communities

Protective Factors for Healing from Trauma in BIPOC Communities

Friday, July 10, 2020

2:15 pm ET/ 11:15 am PT (1:15pm CT)

 

In the wake of COVID-19 and the renewed calls of Black Lives Matter after the killings of Ahmaud Arbrey, Breonna Taylor, George Floyd, and Terry McDade many BIPOC have turned to community based healing practices as a protective factor for mitigating the onslaught of trauma.  These practices, rooted in cultural traditions, act as a “protective shield” from and healing balm for trauma. 

In this free, 60 minute webinar learn about

  • Increase our understanding of community based healing practices.
  • Discuss how community based healing practices differ from traditional mental health treatment approaches
  • Share an example of a community healing practice
  • Get resources for learning more about healing practices that can be brought to your community.

 

Meet the Presenter:

Melanie Funchess is currently employed by the Mental Health Association of Rochester/ Monroe County where she serves as the Director of Community Engagement and Family Support.  Ms. Funchess has served as an advocate for families and youth for many years and has worked extensively in the areas of family engagement and empowerment as well as community building.  She presents, trains, and consults locally and nationally in the areas of cultural competence, family engagement, community partnership building, racial trauma and healing, and mental health in communities of color.   Her two decades of work experience also include the areas of Education, Developmental Disabilities, and Community Health.  She also served as a School Board Commissioner for the Rochester Board of Education.