Skip to main content

Cynthia WainscottThe 2022 Joseph de Raismes, III Policy Award was created to honor the service and legacy of Joseph de Raismes, III who worked on the MHA Board of Directors, gave advice as MHA General Counsel, and provided leadership on the MHA Public Policy Committee. Each year going forward, the Joseph de Raismes, III Policy Award will honor an individual who – like Joe – makes outstanding contributions to furthering mental health policy. This year’s recipient is Cynthia Wainscott.

Cynthia Wainscott was a member of the Institute of Medicine committee that released the landmark report, Improving the Quality of Health Care for Mental and Substance Use Conditions. She was nominated by President Georgia W. Bush and confirmed by the United Sates Senate as a member of the National Council on Disability. She has served as the Vice President for North America and the Caribbean of the World Federation for Mental Health.