Skip to main content
Wednesday, December 07, 2022
Hilton Hawaiian Village in Waikiki, HI

RPC Meeting: Honolulu, Hawaii: Surfing the Policy Wave

Watch the recording:


Surfing the Policy Wave

Note: All times are Hawaii–Aleutian Standard Time. 

Wednesday, December 7, 2022

7 - 7:45 a.m. HST

Legislative Breakfast Buffet

7:45 - 8 a.m.

Welcome & Opening Oli

  • Bryan Talisayan, Executive Director, Mental Health America of Hawaii
  • Dolly Tatofi, LCSW, Maternal Child Health Director, Kokua Kalihi Valley Comprehensive Family Services

8 - 9 a.m.

Legislative Champions Awards: Honoring 2022 State Legislative Mental Health and Substance Use Disorder Champions

  • Welcome Remarks with Joan Ballweg, Wisconsin State Senator

Congratulations to the following Legislative Champions Awardees:

  • Representative Jamie Zahlaway Belsito, MA
  • Senator Cleave Simpson, CO
  • Assemblymember Akilah Weber, CA
  • House Speaker Cameron Sexton, TN
  • Representative Tina Orwall, WA
  • Senator Manka Dhingra, WA
  • Representative Dontavius Jarrells, OH
  • Senator Stephanie Kunze, OH
  • Senator Karl Rhoads, HI

9 - 9:15 a.m.

Welcome Video by Mental Health America (MHA) President and CEO Schroeder Stribling

9:15 - 10 a.m.

Firearm Safety and Suicide Prevention

  • Jose Davila, Deputy Director of State Government Affairs, Everytown for Gun Safety

10 - 10:15 a.m.


10:15 - 11 a.m.

Youth Mental Health in Hawaii

  • Mestisa Gass, PsyD, Program Director, Mental Health America of Hawaii
  • Amanda Martinez, MPH, Training Program Manager, Mental Health America of Hawaii
  • Danielle Bergan, Maui Community Coordinator, Mental Health America of Hawaii

11 - 11:30 a.m.

988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline

  • Laura Evans, Director National and State Policy, Vibrant Emotional Health

11:30 a.m. - noon

Employment for Youth with Mental Health Needs

  • Caitlin Hochul, Project Manager, State Exchange on Employment & Disability Mental Health Initiative (SEED)
  • Rachel McGreevy, State Outreach Advisor, State Exchange on Employment & Disability Mental Health Initiative (SEED)
  • Dina Klimkina, Program Director, The Council of State Governments

Noon - 1 p.m.

Networking Lunch (provided)

1 - 1:40 p.m.

End of the 117th Congress Federal Policy Update and a Look Ahead

  • Mary Giliberti, Chief Public Policy Officer, MHA
  • Caren Howard, Director of Policy and Advocacy, MHA

1:40 - 2:20 p.m.

Work Force and Access Advocacy Opportunities in the States

  • MHA Regional Policy Council Representatives
    • Barbara Johnston, Mental Health Association in New Jersey
    • Ben Harrington, Mental Health Association of East Tennessee
    • Shannah Mulvihill, Mental Health Minnesota
    • Laura Evans, Vibrant Emotional Health

2:20 - 2:30 p.m.

Wrap Up

6 - 9 p.m.

Affiliate-only dinner: by Invitation


For more details contact Debbie Plotnick at or Janelle Gonzaga at